THC oil possession may result in felony charges in Texas
While we may classify all marijuana-related substances under one umbrella, many state drug laws separate marijuana from THC concentrate. THC, or tehtrahydrocannabinol, is extracted from the marijuana plant to create concentrates and oils, which are typically much more potent than marijuana itself. Because of this potency, the possession of THC concentrate or oil is classified as a felony under Texas law, even in small quantities.
Generally, possession of less than four ounces of marijuana is classified as a misdemeanor drug charge. According to state law, marijuana possession can result in up to one year in jail and up to a maximum of $4,000 in fines, but many people will not see any jail time at all.
Possession of THC concentrate is a different story, in that it can lead to much more serious penalties. THC concentrate falls under Penalty group 2 of Section 481 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. Possession of less than 1g of hash and concentrates can result in a state jail felony at minimum, 180 days to two years in jail, and up to $10,000 in fines. Possession of one to four grams is a third degree felony and could result in two to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
The consequences of getting caught with a marijuana-related substance vary from state to state but are especially punitive in Texas. If you have been charged with possession of THC concentrate in any form, a criminal defense attorney in your area can assist you with your case. With an effective defense strategy, you may have your drug charges reduced or dismissed entirely.