AdobeStock_338379873.jpeg

POSSESSION OF

MARIJUANA &

HASH OIL

PENALTIES FOR MARIJUANA AND HASH OIL POSSESSION ARE BIGGER IN TEXAS

Marijuana — or marihuana — is becoming more socially acceptable, and some argue that it should become legal in Texas. At this point, it is only a conversation. Under Texas and federal law, marijuana is still illegal. Although it is not a controlled substance, and efforts have been made to reduce the penalties and offer alternative sentencing options for first-time offenders and small amounts, the consequences remain severe.

At The Law Office of Shawn C. Brown, PC, we only take one side in the debate: We are on your side. Regardless of the circumstances of your case or the severity of the charges, our promise is that we will do everything in our power to have the charges dismissed or reduced and the sentence lessened.

You probably know that drug crimes can have severe criminal consequences such as heavy fines, jail or prison, or that a prior conviction can increase the severity of criminal penalties. Are you also aware that a conviction can affect your driver’s license, job opportunities, immigration status or eligibility for student loans and public assistance?

Businessmen

Were you caught with marijuana or hash oil? You should speak with a lawyer. Call 1-888-WE-FIGHT and 210-224-8200 now for a free consultation.

How Severe Are The Penalties For Marijuana Possession?

The circumstances of your individual situation could always change your case. You could face federal charges if you are caught driving across state lines with marijuana that you purchased legally elsewhere (i.e., Colorado). You could also face stricter penalties if you have a prior conviction on your record. If you were caught with hash oil, the penalties are even more severe (see below).

In Texas, general sentencing guidelines are based on weight.

  • Possessing 2 ounces or less is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail.

  • Possessing 2 to 4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $4,000 and/or less than one year in jail.

  • Possessing 4 ounces to 5 pounds is a state felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and jail sentence of 180 days to 2 years.

  • Possessing 5 to 50 pounds is a third-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of 2 to 10 years.

  • Possessing 50 to 2,000 pounds is a second-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of 2 to 20 years.

  • Possessing over 2,000 pounds is an enhanced first-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $50,000 and a prison sentence of 5 to 99 years.

Don’t forget about the civil consequences. A conviction for simple possession can prevent you from obtaining or renewing your driver’s license. It can also affect your ability to obtain student loans or federal assistance.

Hash Oil? Possession Of Any Amount Is A Felony

Effective Sept. 1, 2016, cannabidiol or cannabis oil is the only form of marijuana that has been legalized in Texas, but not for everyone. It applies only to those with intractable epilepsy — and even these cases are complicated. Do not think that you can avoid charges by using cannabis oil.

Marijuana in an oil form is a controlled substance that carries strict penalties. It is sentenced on the same level as cocaine. The general sentencing guidelines are also based on weight.

  • Possessing 1 gram or less is a state jail felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and 6 months to 3 years in a state jail facility.

  • Possessing 1 to 4 grams is a third-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and 2 to 10 years in prison.

  • Possessing 4 to 200 grams is a second-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and 2 to 20 years in prison.

  • Possessing 200 to 400 grams is a first-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and 5 to 99 years in prison.

  • Possessing over 400 grams is an enhanced first-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $100,000 and 10 to 99 years in prison.

Contact Us Now And We Will Start Working On Your Defense

Even simple possession charges can greatly impact your life. If you have been charged with possession, contact us immediately so that our attorneys can begin working on your case. Call our office in San Antonio 24/7 at 1-888-WE-FIGHT and 210-224-8200 or send us an email for your free initial consultation. Hablamos español.

  • SHAWN BROWN LAW LINKED IN
  • SHAWN BROWN LAW FACEBOOK
  • SHAWN BROWN LAW TWITTER
  • SHAWN BROWN LAW INSTAGRAM

© 2020 The Law Office of Shawn C. Brown, P.C.. All Rights Reserved.

SAN ANTONIO LAW OFFICE:

540 S St Mary's Street
San Antonio, Texas 78205
Local: 210-224-8200
24 Hour: 1-888-WE-FIGHT
Fax: 210-224-8214
Map & Directions

CORPUS CHRISTI LAW OFFICE:

710 Buffalo Street, Suite 804 C
Corpus Christi, Texas 78401
Local: 361-333-2020
24 Hour: 1-888-WE-FIGHT
Fax: 210-224-8214
Map & Directions
By Appointment Only

DSC01150%20lk4_edited.jpg

HOW CAN WE FIGHT FOR YOU?