AdobeStock_272182745.jpeg

NOW WHAT?

ARRESTED FOR DWI? THE NEXT STEP IS TO CALL US.

If you have been arrested for DUI/DWI in Texas, there is a good chance you know that you face some very serious consequences. It is less likely that you know what to do next, especially if it is your first offense.

The most important move you can make after a wrong one is to take a step in the right direction and contact The Law Office of Shawn C. Brown, PC, in San Antonio. It’s the only step you have to take alone. We will handle everything from there, including fight as if it was our future on the line.

Businessmen

Call us at 

1-888-WE-FIGHT and 

210-224-8200 or email us for a free consultation in South Texas. Hablamos español.

Warning: You Have Only 15 Days To Protect Your License

The most important thing after a DWI arrest to remember is that you need to consult an attorney, and you need to do so immediately. The sooner we can get working on your case, the more options we have to build a strong defense and try to keep your driver’s license

There are a few steps that we take in every drunk driving case.

  • Step 1: Fight to protect your license. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) will immediately move to have your license suspended after a drunk driving arrest. You have only 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing to contest the suspension. If you miss that window, the DPS can suspend your license for at least 90 days, if not more. Yes, you still lose your driving privileges even if the charges are eventually dismissed. Having a lawyer during this hearing vastly improves your chance at keeping your license.

  • Step 2: Fight to keep your record clean. Getting DWI charges dismissed is always our primary goal. We do this by looking at all possible defenses. Did the officer have probable cause to make a stop? Or did the officer have reasonable suspicion of impairment to ask you to submit to a breath test? Are the test results reliable? When we cannot get the charges dismissed, we will look for alternative sentencing options that keep a conviction off your permanent record.

  • Step 3: Fight to protect your freedom, reduce penalties. The minimum mandatory jail sentence for a first-offense is three days. Depending on the circumstances, that number can increase significantly. You can also face heavy fines — up to $2,000 for a first offense. You could be required to install an ignition interlock device, which leads to more costs you would be responsible for paying. We put every effort into getting the charges and penalties reduced when the circumstances do not leave room for dismissal.

Let Us Get Started Building Your Defense Today | Free Initial Consultations

Do not wait to contact us. Call our office at 1-888-WE-FIGHT and 210-224-8200 or email us 24/7 to speak to an experienced lawyer at our law firm. Worried about the cost? Don’t. We offer free initial consultations, extremely competitive rates and flexible payment plans. Hablamos español.

Need proof? Here are only a few of our recent case results:

  • Case: Client was pulled over for drunk driving, and the breath test registered a .10 BAC.

  • Result: Our attorney got the charges dismissed when the state couldn’t show that the arrest was “by the book.”

  • Case: Client was arrested and taken into custody after an accident involving speeds of 100 mph. Police administered a blood test, which showed a .12 BAC.

  • Result: Our attorneys kept the blood results out of consideration and attacked the prosecution’s case, forcing the district attorney to drop the charges.

  • Case: Officer arrested a client. A blood test showed a .24 BAC.

  • Result: Our attorney took on the officer during cross-examination, showing that the officer had improperly performed the field sobriety tests used as the basis for the arrest and had lied in the past. The jury found our client not guilty in only 21 minutes of deliberation.

Let Us Get Started Building Your Defense Today | Free Initial Consultations

Do not wait to contact us. Call our office at 1-888-WE-FIGHT and 210-224-8200 or email us 24/7 to speak to an experienced lawyer at our law firm. Worried about the cost? Don’t. We offer free initial consultations, extremely competitive rates and flexible payment plans. Hablamos español.

  • SHAWN BROWN LAW LINKED IN
  • SHAWN BROWN LAW FACEBOOK
  • SHAWN BROWN LAW TWITTER
  • SHAWN BROWN LAW INSTAGRAM

© 2020 The Law Office of Shawn C. Brown, P.C.. All Rights Reserved.

SAN ANTONIO LAW OFFICE:

540 S St Mary's Street
San Antonio, Texas 78205
Local: 210-224-8200
24 Hour: 1-888-WE-FIGHT
Fax: 210-224-8214
Map & Directions

CORPUS CHRISTI LAW OFFICE:

710 Buffalo Street, Suite 804 C
Corpus Christi, Texas 78401
Local: 361-333-2020
24 Hour: 1-888-WE-FIGHT
Fax: 210-224-8214
Map & Directions
By Appointment Only

DSC01150%20lk4_edited.jpg

HOW CAN WE FIGHT FOR YOU?