Not every Texas driver can be perfect all the time. Sometimes mistakes are made and a driver is pulled over for driving after they have been drinking. Texas has some of the strictest penalties for driving while intoxicated which means that even a small mistake can affect a person for many years. In addition to the regular DWI penalties, if a driver has a child in the car, they can face additional penalties.
A person can be pulled over for driving while intoxicated at any time. Even just a few drinks can lead to a person facing drunk driving charges. But if a child under the age of 15 is in the car when a driver has been pulled over for drunk driving, they can also face child endangerment charges. In Texas, child endangerment is punishable by a fine of up to $15,000, 2 years in jail and 6 months of license suspension. These penalties are in addition to the drunk driving penalties a driver may be facing.
If a person is facing a drunk driving charge they may want to speak with a legal professional who is skilled in Texas DUI defense. An attorney understands the shame and embarrassment their client may be facing and how difficult their life can become if they are convicted. An attorney will work tirelessly to investigate the circumstances surrounding their client’s arrest and make sure their legal rights are protected. An attorney will fight to win for their client and help them get their life back in order.
A driving while intoxicated is serious and can be life-altering. There are many additional charges a driver may be facing as well, including child endangerment if children were in the car when an arrest was made. Consulting with a criminal defense attorney can be important in protecting a defendant’s legal rights.