A number of states have legalized the use of marijuana for medical or recreational purposes, and the level of social acceptability has increased. It is illegal under both Texas and federal law, however, so people could face criminal charges for marijuana possession. The circumstances of the specific case dictate the potential penalties.
Sentencing guidelines for Texas marijuana crimes depend on the amount of marijuana the person was allegedly in possession of. If you have been charged with possessing 2 ounces of marijuana or less, for example, you might face penalties of up to 180 days in jail and up to $2,000 in fines. This is a Class B misdemeanor offense. Possession of between 2 and 4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor which could be punished by imprisonment for less than one year and up to $4,000 in fines. If you have been charged with possessing larger quantities of marijuana, you could face more severe punishments. Conviction on possession of more than 2,000 pounds of marijuana is a first-degree felony and may be punished by up to 99 years in prison and up to a $50,000 fine.
Federal laws might come into play in a case where a person has allegedly crossed state lines while in possession of marijuana. If it has been alleged that you were in possession of hash oil processed from marijuana, you may face more severe penalties. Unauthorized possession of cannabis hash oil in any amount is classified as a felony in Texas.
In a case where a person has been charged with a marijuana possession crime, our attorneys might be able to help. It is possible in some cases to have a drug charge dismissed or to have the sentence reduced. Please visit our drug charge page for more information about how we may be able to help you defend your case.