Many people do not realize how much the state of Texas frowns upon the possession of marijuana. Even possessing small amounts of the substance may result in severe legal penalties that can affect you for the many years. Although some states have legalized the medical and recreational use of marijuana, Texas is not one of them and currently decriminalizes the use, sale or possession of the substance.
It is important for you to realize the impact that a marijuana drug possession charge can have on your life. Here is a brief overview of the legal consequences that come with the crime.
Even small amounts can mean jail time
The severity of the consequences you face depends on the amount of the substance that you have at the time of arrest, any prior convictions and other factors. You can expect to receive a stiffer and harsher sentence for having larger amounts of the substance.
The lowest charge for possession is a class B misdemeanor. A class B misdemeanor for marijuana possession can result in you losing your driving privileges for a year, receiving a sentence of up to 180 days in jail, $2,000 in fines and the completion of community service.
Possession could lead to intent to distribute charges
Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, the prosecution may decide to expand the case to include distribution charges. An intent to sell charge for minute amounts of marijuana is a class A misdemeanor. If you are caught with a quarter ounce or more of marijuana and receive an intent to sell charge, you are facing a felony. Felony drug charges carry more severe penalties than misdemeanor drug charges and can result in you receiving up to $250,000 in fines and years in prison.
If you are facing a marijuana drug possession charge, you should take immediate action to lessen the severity of consequences. Do not make light of the situation, and consider speaking to a criminal defense attorney for guidance.