The Law Office of Shawn C. Brown, PC
Call Today for a FREE Consultation 210-265-6290
Available after hours bail bonds
Menu Contact
View our Practice Areas

dui/dwi Archives

Problems proving marijuana DUI

Although some states have legalized the use of marijuana, it is still illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana in Texas and across the country. Despite the wording of the law, it is much more difficult to prove a marijuana DUI compared to one involving alcohol.

Woman faces manslaughter charge after Texas car crash

A 32-year-old woman told an officer that she had been drinking "a lot" before she was driving home from a friend's house during the early morning hours of Feb. 25. At about 2:35 a.m, authorities had been called to an accident at an intersection in Lubbock. According to a witness, the woman's SUV was going north on Indiana Avenue when it collided with a blue Ford Fiesta going west.

Study finds ignition interlock devices increase safety

Texas motorists who have ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles may be less likely to cause a fatal drunk driving accident. According to a study that appeared in the "American Journal of Preventive Medicine", fatal crashes in which at least one driver had a blood alcohol content over the limit were reduced 7 percent when mandatory interlock laws were in place. It is estimated that around 1,250 lives have been saved since 1993.

Underage drinking, driving and Texas law

In Texas, as in many other states, it is illegal for you to drink and drive if you are under the age of 21. The state uses your blood alcohol concentration level to determine if you are driving while intoxicated. If there is any amount of alcohol in your system that can be detected, you could be charged with DWI. You will also run afoul of the law if you are found to have an open can of beer or bottle of alcohol on the passenger seat of your car. In short, alcohol and driving do not mix, and if you think otherwise, you could be in for some serious legal difficulties.

Law enforcement searches for reliable marijuana impairment test

Lawmakers in Texas passed a medical marijuana bill in 2016, but the recreational use of the drug remains illegal in the state. States including California, Colorado and Washington have approved recreational marijuana use, presenting law enforcement agencies across the country with a serious challenge. While field sobriety, breath and blood tests are scientifically proven ways to detect alcohol impairment, there is currently no reliable method police can use to determine whether an individual is under the influence of marijuana.

How your personal hygiene products influence breath test results

If there is one device or object that has become synonymous in people's minds with driving under the influence, it is likely to be the portable breath testing device. These hand-held units have become almost ubiquitous for law enforcement, along with their larger and more rigorous counterparts housed in police stations around the country. As more data is gathered on their operation and use, it's becoming apparent that they are not as accurate as was once believed.

U.S. drunk driving rate hits new low

Texas motorists may find it interesting to learn that the U.S. drunk driving rate fell to a 13-year low in 2014, according to statistics released by the National Survey on Drug Use and Health. Meanwhile, the number of people driving while under the influence of drugs also dipped slightly.

NFL team releases star player after drunk driving charge

Texas NFL fans may have read that Michael Floyd was released by the Arizona Cardinals after being charged with DUI. The 27-year-old receiver was cut by the team less than 48 hours after being taken into custody during the early morning hours of Dec. 12. Floyd faces a two-game suspension should he be picked up by another team in addition to any criminal sanctions handed down.

Potential penalties for a first-offense DUI

Drivers in Texas and around the country who are taken into custody and charged with their first DUI may face serious penalties. Depending on a driver's blood alcohol content when he or she is pulled over, an individual may serve time in jail or be required to perform community service. While a first DUI charge is usually a misdemeanor offense, it could be a felony if there were aggravating circumstances.

How Can We Help Defend You?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close
Firm Location :

540 South St. Marys Street
San Antonio, TX 78205

Phone: 210-265-6290
Fax: 210-224-8214
Map & Directions

Firm Numbers :